Roofing Law

Florida Contractors Should Know About These Unique Roofing Laws featured image

Florida Contractors Should Know About These Unique Roofing Laws

The Sunshine State’s thunderstorms, hurricanes, and inclement weather are so frequent and destructive that lawmakers have implemented unique regulations for how roofs should be repaired and constructed. In this brief article, a roofing lawyer in Florida will be discussing these laws and how they apply to roofers. If you are operating a roofing business in Florida, it is imperative that you remain aware of these laws. Failure to do so could result in a severe fine for violating the Florida Building Code. 

Florida Law  

Florida Statute 553.844 implements strict requirements for roofs, including specific techniques for roof replacements. This is in order to promote the Florida Building Code, which the statute states to be effective at reducing property damage. The statute specifically addresses: 

  • Gable-end bracing installation
  • Standards for secondary water barriers
  • Improving roof-to-wall connections
  • Repairing roof-decking attachments and fasteners 
  • Improving opening protections

For any questions regarding the aforementioned statute or the Florida Building Code, consult with a roofing lawyer in Florida

High-Velocity Hurricane Zones 

The Florida Building Code has specific rules regarding what roofing materials may be used in areas that are susceptible to hurricane damage. High-velocity hurricane zone (HVHZ) roofing is currently required in Broward and Miami-Dade County. These regulations apply to “roofing components, roofing systems, roofing assemblies, and waterproofing.” If you are operating in Fort Lauderdale or Miami, consult with a roofing attorney in Florida who can help you become familiar and compliant with these requirements. 

Florida’s 25 Percent Rule 

In addition to the above regulations, the Florida Building Code has a 25 percent rule, which applies to both residential commercial properties. Essentially, if more than 25 percent of a roof must be “repaired, replaced or recovered” within a 12-month period, then the entire roof must be made to conform with the code, meaning that a homeowner may be entitled to a new roof replacement following a damaging storm. This can easily lead to a dispute between a homeowner and their insurance company as to who is responsible for paying you, the roofer. 

Consult an Attorney 

Failing to keep the above rules and regulations in mind could result in you going without payment, or worse, receiving a severe fine for violating the Florida Building Code. The Florida Building Code is complex, and the state’s statutes are extensive. Partner with a roofing lawyer in Florida to ensure that your business remains profitable and compliant with all state laws. 

If you would like to speak with a roofing attorney in Florida, please contact us today.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.