Florida Roofing License Requirements and Penalties
Florida roofers, like all contractors, must be licensed to perform work. In this brief article, a roofing lawyer in Florida discusses the licensing regulations that you must abide by as well as the penalties for breaking these laws. As mentioned below, the penalties for contracting without a license in the Sunshine State are severe. If you’ve been accused of contracting without a license in the state of Florida, consult a roofing attorney in Florida for assistance.
Who Needs a License in the State of Florida?
With very few exceptions, all contractors must be licensed in the State of Florida. Under Florida law, you must obtain either a certified license or a registered license to perform work. A certified license allows you to “contract in in any jurisdiction in the state without being required to fulfill the competency requirements of that jurisdiction.” A registered contractor’s license, on the other hand, only allows you to perform work in the jurisdiction that issued the license.
For the purposes of obtaining a license, contractors fall under two categories: generalized contractors and specialized contractors. Along with plumbers, mechanical contractors, and sheet metal contractors, roofers are considered a specialized contractor, and you will only be permitted to perform the specific work that you are licensed for. While you can submit an application to the Construction Industry Licensing Board, you can also apply for a license through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Depending on the license you want to obtain, you may need to pass an examination and submit proof of your experience, financial stability, and insurance. However, once you’ve obtained your license, you will be able to contract in Florida without fear of legal repercussions, assuming you don’t break any laws while working.
Contracting Without a License
An unlicensed roofer who performs work is committing a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of $1,000. However, repeat offenders and those who operate without a license during a state of emergency are committing a third-degree felony and risk being handed a $15,000 fine and five-year prison sentence. If you’ve been accused of contracting without a license, it is imperative that you consult a roofing lawyer in Florida. An experienced attorney can employ any number of defenses to argue your case and defend your freedom, but only if you take the necessary step of contacting them. Protect your business and livelihood by consulting a roofing attorney in Florida today.
If you would like to speak with a roofing lawyer in Florida, please contact us today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.