Have You Been Accused of Working Without a License on an Oregon Construction Project?
The Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) leaves little room for interpretation when it comes to who should be licensed within its borders. “Anyone who works for compensation in any construction activity involving improvements to real property needs a license.” Contractors who perform work in which they are not licensed risk not only inciting penalties from the CCB but also a lawsuit from wronged owners.
In this brief article, we discuss how unlicensed contractors can run afoul in the state of Oregon. If you’re reading this, chances are that you’ve been accused of contracting without a license and are in need of assistance. For help defending your right to continue working, consult a Portland license defense attorney near you.
Penalties for Contracting Without a License
The CCB regularly sweeps for unlicensed contractors in Oregon. It was just this past November that a sweep of 249 jobsites uncovered the highest number of license violations in recent years. Those unlucky contractors caught without a license are subject to a penalty of $1,000 per offense, assuming this was a first offense. As we’ll see below, the penalties drastically increase when a wronged owner gets involved.
Penalties When an Owner Files a Complaint for Damages
Whether it’s related to payments, delays, or defects, disputes are all too common in the industry. Usually, contractors can turn to their insurance policies when a dispute emerges. However, unlicensed contractors don’t have the luxury. When an unlicensed contractor is discovered by an owner, they must then contend with a litigious opponent and a court system that won’t look kindly on them, not to mention the CCB. The penalty for contracting without a license in Oregon jumps up to $5,000 per offense when an owner has filed a complaint for damages. Contractors who think they can get away with performing one job unlicensed could end up receiving an exorbitant fine long before they have to face an owner in court.
For License and Legal Defense
Too often, contractors operating in or visiting Oregon are unaware of the state’s licensing requirements and end up in legal hot water. Project owners, homeowners, and the CCB will not tolerate unlicensed contractors, regardless of their good intentions. If you’ve been accused of contracting without a license by a litigious owner, consult a Portland construction dispute attorney with our law firm. These accusations need not result in you being unable to work. For experienced license and legal defense, speak with an attorney from Cotney Attorneys & Consultants.
If you would like to speak with a Portland license defense attorney, please contact us today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.