How to Become a Licensed Contractor in Oregon
In May of 2020, The Construction Contractors Board (CCB), or the state agency that licenses contractors in the state of Oregon, published a news release advising homeowners to check their contractor’s license before making urgent repairs during COVID-19. This is coming just months after their enforcement sweep of Southern Oregon that uncovered the highest number of jobsites and contractor violations in recent history. In Oregon, contracting without a license can result in a $1,000 penalty per offense, which increases to $5,000 if the owner has filed a complaint for damages.
There’s simply no excuse for contracting or even advertising to perform work without a license. In this brief article, we review the required steps for those willing to become a licensed contractor in Oregon. If you’ve been accused of contracting without a license, consult a Portland license defense attorney who can defend your right to continue working.
Steps to Becoming a Licensed Contractor Through CCB
The first step to becoming a licensed contractor is identifying what types of structures you will work on in order to determine what type of license endorsement you’ll need. We recommend reviewing the CCB License Endorsements chart and selecting the endorsement that applies to the structures you intend to construct or develop — residential, commercial, or both. Once that’s decided, you’ll have to complete pre-licensing training and the test before you can move to file your corporation, LLC, or business name with the Oregon Secretary of State. If your business will have employees, then you’ll have to obtain the following:
- Workers’ compensation and identification information
- Federal employee identification number (EIN), if required
- State business identification number (BIN), if required
After that, you’ll have to obtain a surety bond and liability insurance using the same exact name as registered with the Secretary of State and CCB. And finally, to submit your license application, you’ll need a copy of your test score report, surety bond, certification of insurance, and $250 for a two-year license. As with any licensing requirements, there are exceptions, which is why it’s important to review the Oregon Construction Contractor Board’s Guide to Licensing before submitting your application. For example, if a contractor applies for a commercial endorsement, then the contractor must have personal election workers’ compensation insurance even if the contractor doesn’t have employees.
Depending on the type of work you will be performing, you may also be required to obtain a specialty license. For example, the state of Oregon requires all contractors working on housing or child-occupied facilities built before 1978 that disturb lead paint to complete a training class and obtain a special Lead-Based Paint Renovation License from the CCB. Additional certifications also exist for construction flagging, home inspection, and servicing, installing, or repairing locks or security systems. If you have any questions regarding the type of license you need or the costs of obtaining a contractor’s license, consult the Oregon Construction Contractors Board’s Guide to Licensing.
If you have been accused of violating any provision of Oregon licensing laws or have had a licensing complaint filed against you by a property owner, it’s time to reach out to a Portland license defense attorney. We can represent you during the investigation, defend your rights, and help you to avoid the serious consequences of complaints against your license, such as fines, suspension of your license, and restriction of practices.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.