Construction Law

How to Obtain a Building Permit in Nashville featured image

How to Obtain a Building Permit in Nashville

If you’re a contractor operating in the city of Nashville, you’re likely going to need a building permit. Building permits are required for the construction of residential buildings, new accessory structures, and roofing installation. But not just anyone can obtain a building permit in Nashville. Only contractors who are licensed, bonded, and insured can obtain one. We’ll discuss these requirements and more below. Because contractors are most often tripped up by licensing requirements, we encourage you to consult a Nashville license defense attorney with our law firm if you are ever accused of contracting without a license. 

Building Permit Requirements 

Here are the steps you must take before being able to obtain a building permit in Nashville. 

Contractor’s License 

This is perhaps the most important step in obtaining a building permit. Not only does a Tennessee contractor’s license allow you to obtain a building permit, but it also allows you to bid on projects valued at $25,000 or more. For the purposes of obtaining a building permit, you will need either a home improvement license or a Tennessee contractor’s license for residential projects valued between $3,000 and $25,000. You will need a state contractor’s license for projects valued at or over $25,000. 

Related: License or No License: Tennessee Contractors

Business License 

You may be able to sign an affidavit stating that your business is exempt, but chances are that you will be required to obtain a Davidson County business license. You will need to obtain a Davidson County business license if your company is located in Davidson County, another state, or another part of Tennessee and does work valued at more than $50,000 in a year. 

Permit Bond 

Like a contractor’s license, a permit bond ensures that a contractor will conduct business in a lawful manner. In order to obtain a building permit, you must first obtain a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 or $40,000, depending on the value of the bid. This bond must be on Metro Form DCAB7

Workers’ Compensation

All contractors are required to show proof of workers’ compensation; otherwise, they will need to sign an affidavit declaring that their business is exempt. Remember that, in the state of Tennessee, all construction businesses are required to obtain workers’ compensation coverage, including their owners. The penalties for operating without worker’s compensation can be severe, so be sure to obtain the proper coverage. 

Related: Why a Workers’ Compensation Defense Attorney is an Asset

Covering All Your Basis 

Although you must provide proof of the above items in order to obtain a building permit in Nashville, most of these items are required to contract anywhere in Tennessee. For example, you must be able to provide proof of insurance before being granted a Tennessee contractor’s license. This is just one of the many requirements that can trip up contractors operating in the Volunteer State. For this reason and more, we suggest consulting an attorney if you are ever concerned with operating lawfully in your area. The Nashville license defense attorneys with Cotney Attorneys & Consultants can defend the legitimacy of your business if it is ever questioned.

If you would like to speak with a Nashville license defense attorney, please contact us today.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.