What Out-Of-State Contractors Need to Know Before Working in Florida Part 1
As of the time of this writing, Hurricane Dorian has just skirted by Florida. Had this hurricane hit the state, it would have caused widespread damage to homes and businesses. It’s likely that many out-of-state contractors would have flocked to the state to repair the damage. But Florida, like every other state, has a unique set of laws that contractors must adhere to.
Out-of-state contractors must be familiar with Florida’s laws in order to lawfully operate within its borders. Below, a South FL contractor lawyer with Cotney Attorneys & Consultants discusses the Sunshine State’s insurance requirements for contractors. You can also skip ahead to part two to read about the state’s licensing requirements.
Florida Insurance Requirements
Florida Statute 489.115 states:
As a prerequisite to the initial issuance or the renewal of a certificate or registration, the applicant shall submit an affidavit on a form provided by the board attesting to the fact that the applicant has obtained workers’ compensation insurance as required by chapter 440, public liability insurance, and property damage insurance for the safety and welfare of the public.
General Liability Insurance
Before a contractor can be licensed in the State of Florida, they must prove that they have obtained the required general liability insurance. The minimum general liability insurance that a contractor is required to carry is $300,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage.
You can either obtain Florida workers’ compensation insurance or use the policy from your home state. If you stick with an out-of-state policy, contact your insurance company and request that Florida be added to “Section 3.A.” of the policy. If you do not obtain Florida workers’ compensation insurance or do not have Florida added to your out-of-state policy, you will only be able to operate in the State of Florida for 10 consecutive days or 25 days total days of the year if your workers’ compensation insurance is from one of the states listed here. A contractor can be issued a stop-work order and penalized for failing to meet these requirements. There are exemptions, however. Contact one of our South FL contractor lawyers to determine if you are exempt from these requirements.
Contact a Professional for Assistance
As we continue this discussion in part two, we will cover Florida’s licensing requirements. Complying with the requirements listed throughout this article is crucial for contractors looking to operate lawfully within the State of Florida and avoid costly fines and lawsuits. If you are unlicensed or uninsured and have been fined for working in Florida, contact a South FL contractor lawyer from Cotney Attorneys & Consultants for assistance.
If you would like to speak with one of our South FL contractor lawyers, please contact us today.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.