Construction Law

Which Contractors Need a Home Improvement License in Tennessee? featured image

Which Contractors Need a Home Improvement License in Tennessee?

There are a total of seven contractor license classifications in Tennessee, with six classifications applying to the entire state. If you’re working on a project valued at $25,000 or more, you’re required to carry at least one of these six licenses. (If not, we hope you’re in touch with a Nashville license defense attorney). But what about that seventh classification? When does a contractor need a home improvement license in Tennessee? You’ll find the answers to these questions and more below. 

Home Improvement License Requirements

Although counties in Tennessee are not required to adopt requirements, a number have done so under T.C.A. 62-6-516. Counties that require contractors to carry a home improvement license are:

  • Bradley
  • Davidson
  • Haywood
  • Hamilton
  • Knox
  • Marion
  • Ropertson
  • Rutherford
  • Shelby

That’s right, if you’re currently contracting in Davidson County and the city of Nashville, these requirements apply to you. As detailed on the license application, prime contractors performing residential remodeling work on projects valued between $3,000 and $24,999 (including materials and labor) are required to have a home improvement license. Specifically, if you “repair, replace, remodel, alter, conversion, modernization, improvement, or addition to structures and land,” you’ll need to be licensed.  

Related: License or No License: Tennessee Contractors

Electricians, Plumbers, and HVAC Technicians 

Of note, the home improvement license does not cover electrical, plumbing, and HVAC (HVAC technicians should consult a Nashville license defense lawyer for exceptions). If you work in one of these trades, you will require a license for that specific trade. 

Related: How to Become a Licensed Contractor in Tennessee

Don’t Be Caught Without the Proper License in Tennessee 

With Tennessee’s numerous license classifications and requirements, it’s all too easy for contractors to be accused of contracting without proper licensing, especially now that Tennessee has temporarily eased licensing requirements in the wake of severe tornado damage. But make no mistake; it is unlawful to contract in Tennessee without a license. 

As stated on the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance website, the home improvement license is a good place to start for those who want to be licensed, insured, and bonded contractors. They’re right. A licensed contractor can perform work with confidence knowing that they’re protected and insured, whereas an unlicensed contractor can’t. If you’ve been accused of working without the proper license, contact a Nashville license defense attorney near you. 

If you would like to speak with a Nashville license defense lawyer, please contact us today.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.